Blogia
Kristin in Nicaragua

community assessment - Granadillo

community assessment - Granadillo

I continue to facilitate a community needs assessment process in a rural community of the municipality of La Dalia, as part of my volunteer commitment with Acción Médica Cristiana. Pictured here are members of the Comité Comunal, leaders of the community, Granadillo, where I am facilitating this process. In our meeting this week, we focused on identifying and prioritizing community problems. The three problems the community has chosen to focus on are: latrines and sanitation (many families don't have latrines or they are in poor condition); access to health care and use of medicinal plants (there are many such plants in the community, but people are not aware of appropriate uses); and nutrition/food security/and the need for a land bank for families to have access to cultivable land. When in La Dalia, I also am interviewing and visiting with the 3 families I have included in my study there.

0 comentarios