Blogia
Kristin in Nicaragua

Blog - Red de Mujeres Familiares de Migrantes

My friends at the Red - in English, The Network of Women Family Members of Migrants - have created a blog. For those who are interested (and read Spanish) you can find the blog at:

http://www.redmujeresfamiliaresdemigrantes.blogspot.com/

In Managua, I'm actively involved with the Red and their programs, including those related to their political agenda (posted on the blog), and other educational and social activities. Some of the women incorporated in the Red are grandmothers caring for children left behind by migrant mothers, and some of these families have become the first group of study families for my research. Through them, I am meeting additional families for my study, including extended family members and/or neighbors of the first group of families. Currently I am working with 10 families in Managua and 3 in La Dalia. I hope to have a total of at least 20 families by the end of my research, with a sufficient number in each site to generate some rural-urban comparisons.

paz y benediciones, kristin

1 comentario

Angela -

It's so cool that the women at the Red started a blog - the internet and related abilities for nearly anyone in the world to present and locate free information (however biased) is one of the few favorable offshoots of globalization! i can't wait to read it.