Blogia
Kristin in Nicaragua

Donations for Gilbert

Donations for Gilbert

In the hopes of catching some of you while you’re in the mood for holiday giving (and before you head to the malls for "Black Friday" -- so not missing the over-commercialization of the holidays!), I wanted to share this request for scholarship support for my friend Gilbert. Gilbert is the health promoter/volunteer with AMC I’ve been working with in La Dalia, and he hopes to study for a dentistry/odontology degree after he finishes high school next year. Please do not feel obligated to donate, but if you do feel you want to help out (I’m thinking small amounts e.g. $5-$20), email me separately and I can share options for sending donations. Mil gracias and Happy Thanksgiving!!!  --Kristin

(what follows is my translation of Gilbert’s letter, which he prepared at my request)

Hi, I’m Gilbert,  Warm greetings to all of you, I want to tell you a little about myself: I’m a young person who dreams, and my dream is to become an Odontologist or a translator, but I need a little luck to achieve this because I don’t have the needed economic resources. I’ve actually just finished my fourth year of secondary school [note: high school here lasts five years]. My only desire is to serve the community and society if I can make my dream reality. I work as a volunteer Health Promotor with Acción Médica Cristiana, I don’t receive any pay for this work. I’ve also helped Kristin, who has led a good process in a community and whose friendship is important in helping me develop my personal knowledge. I also participate and lead a youth group in the catholic church in my town; our saying is, “where there are youth, there’s happiness”. I would like to have the opportunity to receive support from you all, people who have the heart to help me achieve my dream. I am 17 years old, I live in El Tuma-La Dalia, in the Department of Matagalpa, Nicaragua. I hope God blesses you all. While I don’t know you, I wish you love and happiness. Thank you, bye bye.

1 comentario

Nicamer -

Hey Kristin! Tell me how I can send some money for Gilbert. Thanks!