Blogia
Kristin in Nicaragua

Campaign to Protect and Defend Nicaraguan Migrants

Campaign to Protect and Defend Nicaraguan Migrants

This past week I co-facilitated a workshop on migration (issues and problems in Nicaragua) and Servicio Jesuita de Migrantes' campaign (objectives, activities, opportunities) for all the campaign volunteers (like myself) who will be reproducing a similar workshop throughout several departamentos (states) in the coming weeks. It was great to feel the volunteers' enthusiasm for the campaign, and to be able to share my about migration. This coming week, I'll be joined by other volunteers and will conduct a workshop in Chinandega and another in Estelí. Putting some of the insights I've gained over the past year into practice in this way, engaging in public education, raising awareness about migration and its many complex causes and consequences, is a very rewarding way to spend my final weeks of fieldwork. (Note: the full name of the Campaign is "Campaña por la Protección y Defensa de los Derechos de la Población Migrante Nicaragüense".

0 comentarios